The University of Manchester

The University of Manchester was created by bringing together The Victoria University of Manchester and UMIST, two of Britain’s most distinguished universities, to create a powerful new force in British higher education. Manchester has a long tradition of excellence in higher education. UMIST can trace its roots back to 1824 and the formation of the Manchester Mechanics’ Institute, whilst The Victoria University of Manchester was founded as Owens College in 1851. After 100 years of working together these two great institutions formally combined to form a single university on 22 October 2004.
25 Nobel Prize winners have either studied or conducted some of their work here: Rutherford began his work on splitting the atom here and the world’s first modern computer also came into being at The Victoria University of Manchester. Professors Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov were awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics in 2010. Former students of UMIST and The Victoria University of Manchester include comedian Ben Elton; pioneer of flight Arthur Whitten-Brown; and novelist Anthony Burgess.
The University of Manchester is offering to our research programme a double essential academic environment, first with researches conducted in the field of Holocausts studies (within the frame of the School of Art, Histories and Culture), and second with researches conducted in the field of criminology on questions regarding the application of moral neutralization theory to war crimes tribunal data and historic genocide denial (in the School of Law).
This double resource offered by discussions engaged with historians and criminologists of the University of Manchester on the question of genocide and mass violence, will with no doubt be able to consolidate and enriched the academic outputs of this research programme.