Rijksuniversiteit Groningen

The University of Groningen (Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, RUG) located in the city of Groningen, was founded in 1614. It is one of the oldest universities in the Netherlands as well as one of its largest. Since its inception more than 100,000 students have graduated. It is a member of the distinguished Coimbra Group.
The University of Groningen is organized in nine faculties that offer programmes and courses in the fields of Humanities, Social Sciences, Law, Economics and Business, Spatial Sciences, Life Sciences, and Natural Sciences and Technology. Each faculty is a formal grouping of academic degree programmes, schools and institutes, discipline areas, research centers, and/or any combination of these drawn together for educational purposes.
Groningen Faculty of Law belongs to the top law faculties in the Netherlands. The Faculty is an internationally oriented institution focusing on questions regarding international criminal law and implication of International Criminal Tribunals in the recognition of mass violence with the commitment of Dr. Caroline Fournet in several research projects assessing the question of judicial proof in mass violence cases. This area of expertise will be particularly useful to enlighten the legal aspects of our research project.